In 2012 I will be a Rock(Rap)star.

Standard

My New Years Resolution for 2012 is to be a Rockstar (or even better, a RapStar like Dr. Dre).  I’ve watched MTV – and I know what it takes.  I’m going to grow my fro and add some bling, go on a rhymin’ spree with some really offbeat lyrics, and hope no one picks up on the fact that I learned all my rhythm from Zumba.

Or maybe just aspire to be MF Biebs instead.

  This is my goal. A goal that I promise to live up to each and every day. To work hard towards and never let die.

Right. That will happen.

I have always had mixed opinions about New Years Resolutions because it seems quite odd to me to designate one day as the start to all of the new found greatness each of us can and should be.  Hello?! What about the 364 other days a year.  Nothing irks me more than when people say “I just need to get past X and then I’ll start Y” or “Once I do X, then I can think about Y”.  Really?  I live each and every day with the motto that Life is Happening Now and I have an ability to make a genuine impact each and every day.  So why would I create arbitrary milestones to start or stop doing something?  To me, January 1st is just that, an arbitrary milestone.

So, just like every other year, I didn’t create any so-called New Years Resolutions, but I do have a list of ongoing goals I’d love to share with you.  {And I welcome your enthusiasm, your encouragement and even your participation!}

Running:

  • Complete my first Marathon  {and if possible do it in a Sub-4}
  • Enter the lottery for INGNYC Marathon 2012 (Check, did it this morning when it opened)
  • Enjoy Racing and Running.  Travel to races, race and run with friends, meet new friends in the running world.
  • Stay competitive, but don’t let competition define me.
  • Stay Limber and Healthy.  Stretch a lot. Listen to my Body. Make Yoga a priority.
  • I banned together with HauteRunningMama and we’re both going to shoot for 2000 Miles in 2012 – maybe we should actually go for 2012 miles in 2012.  {this equals about 38 miles/week}. This is really the only goal that has a start date of yesterday, but I’m OK with that.  I signed up for DailyMile to track my progress {and put an icon on my blog} – feel free to check in on me, throw me some encouragement or even join me on a run!  It’s not about speed, just enjoying the journey.

Creating:

  • Reconnect with my Guitar.  I played for a while and lost touch with it when I broke my wrist.  2 years later, I’m well beyond healed.  I see it sitting on the stand across the room every day, staring me down.  It’s time dear friend. It’s time.
  • Continue to create, cook, design, style and craft with reckless abandon. Creativity is the necessary catharsis in my life and I also have a strong desire to make things my own. When things get hectic around me, creativity brings me back to who I am and allows me to put a uniquely personal touch on the mundane.
  • Bring theMFDre to life. It’s only been about 2 months since I started blogging, but I’ve been having so much fun.  And on top of it, I’ve more than quadrupled my readership month over month.  I’m going to dedicate a little more thinking and a little more time to this and really try to grow theMFDre.  (and P.S., theMFDre was a nickname inspired by lyrics from Dr. Dre’s Let Me Ride back in High School.  The message of the song didn’t stick, but the nickname did, so I kept it).

Make an Impact:

  • Do More Good. After running the Operation Jack 1/2 Marathon the other day, I realized that I have the power to do more good. To do what I love and and at the same time, support great causes and great people.  Between Running (and Fitness in General), Creating, Cooking and a myriad of other things, I have the ability to put my talents to use to benefit others – even if it is supporting a bake sale.  Do More Good does not mean Do BIG things. It means no matter how small or how big, make an impact.
  • Stay Inspired. Push the limits and boundaries of what is possible – at work, at play, in thought and in relationships.  Don’t settle for what is – particularly if I’m not happy with it.  Be the change.  Make my mark.

What are your goals? I’d love it if you shared too!

{MF Dre}

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “In 2012 I will be a Rock(Rap)star.

Chatter

