A Sad Day in the Running World.

Standard

I have been deeply moved all week by the story of Sidney, Montana runner, Sherry Arnold, who went out for a pre-dawn run a week ago and never returned.   They found her shoe along the side of the road and spent the remainder of the week trying to understand what might have happened and where she might be.  Sherry was an avid runner, a mother, a teacher, a wife, a friend and so much more.  Today we learned that Sherry will not be coming home.  While I don’t know Sherry, this story has hit me to the core and brings out the worst fears as a woman, a runner and of the things in life that are just so cruel, harsh, unfair and just plan sickening.  It also reminds me just how precious life’s moments are.

This has stirred an interesting debate around the internet and blogs about the safety of running.  In my opinion, this is not a debate we should be having.  We all take very calculated risks each day of our lives – the easiest example is getting into our car and dealing with the bazillion other crazy drivers, talking and texting on the road.  That is a concern and puts us at a much higher risk than going for a run.  Not to mention the health risks associated with not using your legs to move.

It shouldn’t be a debate, but instead it should be a very sad and very tragic reminder to runners, cyclists, walkers, skateboarders, hikers etc. to always be aware of your surroundings.  What seems like it should be a no-brainer can be quickly and easily forgotten when your playlist hits your favorite track or you get lost in the runners/athletes high.  Run Smart. Please.

I’m sad for Sherry. I’m sad for her family, her friends, her students and for the impact this has had on Sidney, Montana and the community at large.

********

On a separate note, but running related, Heather is hosting a Virtual Race and I think you should all join in. Her daughter, Gabby, is 5 years old and was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia in January, 2011. Heather is  fundraising for the Pediatric Cancer Research Foundation,   The great news is that you can customize the race to suit YOU!  Run/Walk a 5k, 10k, Half or Full Marathon when and where you like it and make a donation to Team Gab!  Oh and there are prizes – great ones.  Who doesn’t want a Sparkly Skirt?

So, here’s the scoop on Running with Team Gab:

When: Starts Monday, 1/16/12, through Friday, 2/17/12 – that’s a full month to fit in your race!
Where: Wherever you feel like racing
Who: Everyone is invited to the party – Heather’s the friendly type.

I’m running the Half (and adding it to my Running page).  Who’s in? Virtually In?

Lucky for Heather and Team Gab, Disney will also make a donation to the PCRF as part of the Corporate Matching Program.  Remember to check to see if your company will too!

********

It’s been a week.  And I’m glad it’s Friday.  Really Glad.

I finally have a working loaner computer again after this disaster  – ugh, my hard drive definitely flatlined  – and feel like I can reconnect with the world again.  Wait, that sounds really sad and pathetic that I need my computer to connect with the world.  Who am I? Tron?  No. I don’t live on the grid. Work must really be getting in the way of my head space.

happy friday.

  • Who else wants run the Virtual Race with me?  Sign Up and let me know!

{MF Dre}

PS: BIG TIP: Buy an external hard drive and use it.  Regularly. Thank Goodness I Listened.

3 thoughts on “A Sad Day in the Running World.

Chatter

