We’re Off.

Standard

We’re headed to Colorado today for a ski and snowboard adventure for the Mr.’s Birthday.  Bonus: my Brother and Barbie-in-Law are joining us.  Cannot wait!

Last year we stayed local to Snowboard, but despite.my.smile.I.really.cannot.stand.Big.Bear.

Mammoth is the only place in CA that is worth it and unfortunately it’s a bit too far for day trips. Plus this is what Mammoth looks like right now. More dirt than snow.  No. Bueno.

I spent 4 years of my childhood in Denver, CO so I learned to ski – and what constitutes a good mountain – very early.  So I’m a bit biased {and probably a bit spoiled}. Since I’ve had a lot of time on skis, you can pretty much put me at the peak of about anything and I’ll find my way down.  It’s fun and thrilling, but not the new and challenging I crave.   So a few years ago I decided it was time to learn how to snowboard.  It kind of failed. But I’ve recovered and after a few lessons, I’m back at it, but still very much a beginner. {you didn’t think I’d stop after that, did you? – if so, I think you need to get to know theMFDre better}

Weather forecast calls for light snow.  Check.

Base is about 26″‘- 41″ across Breckenridge, Keystone, Vail and Beaver Creek.   Could be better, but Check.

I rented us a condo on the lake in Keystone using VRBO and it wound up being a much better (and less expensive) option for the 4 of us vs. renting hotels.  Plus pajama parties aren’t as fun in hotel rooms. Here’s what I’m promised – we’ll see if photos = reality.

Bonus: the lake is one huge natural ice skating rink in the winter.  Mr., Brother and Barbie, sorry, there is no out clause on this one!

source

Bags Packed, House Cleaned, Sheets Changed, Trash Out, Airport Snacks Packed, Homies Kissed.

Heading to the airport now!  Thanks H for watching the Homies for us.

{MF Dre}

Chatter

