Addicted to Cryotherapy.

Standard

This morning’s ice bath might have hurt more than the 20 miles I ran right before it.   Or maybe I just have selective memory and had already forgot about the painful parts of that 2 hours and 59 minutes.  After all, it was 72 and Sunny and looked something just like this.

So when I realized that my next step was an Ice Bath, I kind of wanted to cry. And then I think that I actually did cry the minute my toes hit the bathtub.  I made sure to bring a hot cup of coffee, my down jacket, beanie, my phone and some smut magazine to try to make the 15 minutes go by faster.  Caught up on all my tweets, blogs and emails.  {Sorry if you got some cryptic, pained response from me}

Cryotherapy (“cold therapy”) constricts blood vessels and decreases metabolic activity, which reduces swelling and tissue breakdown. Once the skin is no longer in contact with the cold source, the underlying tissues warm up, causing a return of faster blood flow, which helps return the byproducts of cellular breakdown to the lymph system for efficient recycling by the body. “Ice baths don’t only suppress inflammation, but help to flush harmful metabolic debris out of your muscles,” says David Terry, M.D., an ultrarunner who has finished both the Western States 100-Mile Endurance Run and the Wasatch Front 100-Mile Endurance Run 10 consecutive times. – Runners World.

I wish I could run away from these, but I’m still training for the first 26.2. and hoping.and.praying.I.love.it. because there just might be are 2 more full mary’s and a host of other races after it. Which also means I am running towards the ice bath. Over and Over and Over again.  {le sigh}

I had a moment the other day where I realized that I just wasn’t signed up to do enough races.  Really??? You ask.   Yes, it’s a me not being able to do nothing problem.

So clearly I signed up for more. {someone fingers.might.be.pointed.at.moi is obsessed}.

During Wednesday’s bender I threw down for Schwaggles “PBR” priced deal for the Long Beach Pajama 10k.

Roll out of bed and get ready to jog with 5,000 other pajama clad participants in the Long Beach Pajama Run/Walk, sponsored by LA Fitness, Whole Foods and Bud Light. Instead of counting sheep, count the harbor boats as you run along the shoreline. Get gorgeous views of the Lighthouse and Long Beach harbor along the way.

Wondering if I should be scared for what I might see people running in.

After throwing down some PBR, I decided it was time to get back to that Champagne Taste I have.  Popped a Bottle of Veuve and hit REGISTER.

The Bank of America Chicago Marathon is known for its fast and flat course through one of the world’s most magnificent cities. Elite athletes and amateurs alike annually target the race for its potential to generate personal, national and world records. In addition to its speed, the course offers a scenic tour of Chicago and its lively neighborhoods, as well as a convenient start and finish in beautiful Grant Park. You are guaranteed to see all that is great about the city of Chicago.

Fast and flat.  The Flat part sounds good… Plus it means that I’ll also be able to visit and run in a city where so many of my best friends live.  (EXTRA BONUS:  Insta-TeamMFDre-Cheer-Squad)

Ugh.  If there is one thing these race benders prove, it is that I am most certainly  not addicted to Cryotherapy.

{MF Dre}

  • Ice Bath – Love ’em or Hate ’em?
  • How do you distract yourself in an Ice Bath?
  • Running Chicago?  Say yes!  (or at least say you’ll cheer!)
  • How many races have you signed up for in a day?
One thought on “Addicted to Cryotherapy.

Chatter

