The Dumbest Thing I’ve Ever Done. (and it wasn’t eat at Tar and Roses).

Standard

Last night I am pretty sure I did the dumbest thing I’ve ever done.  Actually, I think I’m more really sure than pretty sure. And this was pre-cocktail and pre-GNO with super blonde haired {genius} friend.  WTH??

So I’ll start with the end of the night when I was walking to my car.  Here’s the conversation that ensued in my head.

  Hmm, that’s funny, did I leave my lights on?  Oh no, that’s just the car behind me reflecting on to my car.  

No, my lights are on.  Hmm. OK. But my lights are automatic and I know that I made sure of that after the valet the other day put them on manual. 

Triple Hmm, maybe the Mr. is playing a joke on me.  Where’s his Motorcycle? Is he sitting in my car waiting for me? That would be kind of funny and fun. 

Wait…is my car on? As in is my car running?  

yes.  yes. it is. 

So yes, I left my car running, in park and locked, for an hour and forty minutes while I had dinner down the street {at one.one.of.the.best.new.restaurants in Santa Monica}.  Reason #487 why the keyless push button start on a car is not easier. or smarter.   Did I mention I’ve locked the keys in the car while they rested in the cup holder? Or that I can never ever find them in the rare instance I need them since they’re now consistently useless and buried at the bottom of my purse?

So anyway.  As I mentioned, I had a fantabulous dinner at Tar and Roses last night with this girl who ran me to the finish last weekend.   As I’ve mentioned here and here, the Westside’s been desperate for some DT spots for a while now and they’re starting to pop up all around. Tar and Roses is no exception.  With its industrial atmosphere juxtaposed with a wood burning hearth, read leather seats and dry goods for sale its quaint, familiar and trendy all in one.

Highlights on the Menu included: Balsamic Glazed Ribs and Popped Corn with Crisp Bacon, Brown Sugar and Chili to start.

Roasted Chicken with Tomato & Corn Bread Salad and a Cioppino-style Shellfish Pot in a Red Curry Sauce

 I’m not sure we could have gone wrong on the menu.  The only thing I wish was that we’d each had two stomachs so we could have tried more.  Getting in here is not easy. They’re pretty much booked.solid as is the ever.so.annoying case here in the LA when something is new and different and you want to be a so-called-trendsetter.  But OpenTable has some avails and if you’re wiling to give it a small wait, I guarantee it won’t be the dumbest thing you’ve ever done either.

{MF Dre}

So what is the dumbest thing you’ve ever done?  Spill it. 

* All images (except for the dumbness) courtesy of Tar and Roses.  
 
12 thoughts on “The Dumbest Thing I’ve Ever Done. (and it wasn’t eat at Tar and Roses).

  1. The dumbest thing lately? With a car? I parked my car at a friends place and when I went to leave my car was nowhere to be seen. Instant panic. Who stole my car? Nobody. A quick look down the street I see a car that looks like mine a half of a block away parked at an angle against the curb. Turns out I left it in neutral, didn’t set the parking brake and it decided to roll down the hill, cross to the other side of the street and stop at the curb. So lucky, no damage done.

    Love the blog, keep it up!

  2. julie16750

    We have a “keyless” car too. I have also left it running, in park, locked. I also get a kick out of being dropped off by my husband, only to have to turn around and go back to the car because it’s beeping because I have the key in my purse. Of course it then takes me about 10 minutes to find it.

  3. HA!… I bought a Lexus G450h (Hybrid) and yes, it’s quiet… tooo quiet… It’s been found running, later. But that’s not even close to the stupidest thing(s) I have ever done. The permanently bumpy left shoulder is a not so gentle reminder of the day I said “Hey Mike, set up with the camera down here and I’ll hit these jumps on my mountain bike…” I might as well have said “Hey Looky Here”… But enough about me… Oh there was the time I decided to change to minimalist shoes two weeks before a half marathon… That Achilles pain was not fun… There was this other time ALL my friends and ALL my relatives said, “We dont think you should marry that girl…” an on and on and on…

Chatter

