Take a Peep.

Standard

Remember when I profoundly professed my love for Peeps? 

Well, I was tasked to bring something of the baked sort to our Easter Celebration on Sunday and for some reason the Mr. didn’t think making homemade Peeps counted, nor did Peepshi (Peep Sushi). I abandoned my hopes of Peep’ed out Easter Dessert for something a bit more crowd pleasing, but equally festive.

I’ve long been a fan of Magnolia Bakery’s Vanilla Birthday Cake ever since my mom “loaned” me the Cookbook. {I think my past-due fees are probably enormous on this one}.

So I decided to make this Vanilla cake with a bit of a twist.  A 4-layer Ombre White Chocolate Raspberry version inspired by the recent ombre trend in fashion.

Here’s how to make an Ombre Cake

  1. Pick your favorite White cake recipe.  As mentioned, I prefer this one
  2. Make the batter and divide among as many bowls as you want layers. (4 bowls = 4 layers).  Note: You may need to double the recipe.
  3. Pick your Ombre color scheme – pinks, purples, blues, greens etc. and add one drop of food color to the first bowl and then 1-2 more drops to each of the subsequent bowls.
  4. Bake each layer separately then cool.  I use the Williams Sonoma 6′ round pan
  5. Stack each layer from dark to light and frost.  Hint: I like to freeze my layers before frosting. It minimizes crumbs during the frosting process.
  6. Use your favorite frosting recipe; stack. frost. repeat.

{Please forgive the quality of this final photo – I only had my phone with me and the lighting was deceptively poor so I couldn’t capture a picture that would do much justice.}

Bottom line, it was delicious.  I highly recommend using a lighter ‘whipped cream’ style frosting vs. a typical buttercream like I did here.  On an already dense 4-layer cake, it takes away some of the heaviness that you’d expect.  I’ll also say that this cake takes time so leave yourself enough time…I only have one 6″ pan so each layer had to bake separately.  I guess I could solve that by buying more pans, but at $21 a pop, I felt like I’d rather invest in the time vs.  spend that on a baking pan.

At the end of the day, I’d still opt for Peeps over cake – because I am ob.sessed, but this cake delivered a pretty strong second best.

{MF Dre}

  • When you’re asked to bring something, do you make it or pick it up?
  • What is your signature dish? dessert?
6 thoughts on “Take a Peep.

Chatter

