Putting My Race Face On.

Standard

I’m 5 days out from running the Boston Marathon and that means it’s time to

put.my.race.face.on

but really, what is my race face?

Yes, really.  A whole bunch of winning race faces. Try to top them.

And let’s talk reality…I’m not giving anyone the thumbs up. In most cases, I’m just looking to hitch a ride to the finish.

I’d venture to guess that my race faces reflect what was going on in my head at most points during the races above…moments of focus, moments of pain, moments of relief and the HOLY CRAP I SEE THE FINISH LETS GO moments.

Having never run Boston and never run IN Boston before, I watched this video last night with hopes that I’d get some great insight into how to put my head into the game for Monday’s race.  Here are the 8 Mental Tricks that Dr. Jeff Brown – the psychologist for the Boston Marathon offered up.

{Side Note: is it weird that marathons have official psychologists?  Whatever, I’m all ears}

  1. For Increased Confidence, Trust Your Training: I’ve trained for months and I have routines.  They will take over just as I’ve planned, rehearsed and trained.
  2. Eliminate the What Ifs, Yeah Buts and If Thens:  Keep Positive, Negative Thoughts Make Will Absolutely Make My Shoes Heavy.
  3. Put all of Life’s Distractions on the Back Burner Before and During the Race:  It can all wait until after I’ve run. I am not expected to solve all of life’s problems during these 26.2 miles.  Enjoy them worry free.
  4. If Something Unexpected Happens, It’s OK: Accept things for what they are.  Weather, Leg Cramps, etc? Perfection is not required to finish this race.
  5. If Running in Boston, Talk Yourself up Heartbreak Hill:  Associate constructive cue words with the hill – strength, hard work pays off, accomplishment.  I will let that hill break someone else’s heart.  I am going to tackle the hill and listen coach my body to the top, chipping away at each 50 feet at a time.
  6. Indulge Your Superstitions: Especially if they make me feel familiar – like tying the right shoe before the left and re-doing my ponytail 4x before the start.
  7. Choose 2-3 Goals for Your Performance: Having only one goal – a PR or a total race time – will decrease my possibilities of success and enjoyment of race milestones along the way.  I am also going to set Mini Goals for last 6 miles too – like not walking up Heartbreak Hill and keeping those last 6 miles under 10 minutes each.
  8. Remind Yourself Why You’re Running: For that person, that cause or personal reason.  Knowing why I’m there is really important to me in this race.  I’ll be there running to kick cancer in the face, running for all the lives that have been taken by the deadly disease and running for all those who are suffering.  There will be no amount of pain or suffering that I’ll experience during this race that will begin to equal what someone with cancer is suffering and I will continue to remind myself of why I am running.

How do you put your race face on? And what are the things you mentally prepare for before a race?

{MF Dre}

8 thoughts on “Putting My Race Face On.

  1. Love this Andrea!! :)) I esp. Love #8! You’re going to do great. Trust your training & all the hard work you invested. When you get to “heartbreak hill” stay positive. Think of Atraeu from “neverending story!” Channel your inner “darwinism!” Strong will survive! Have soo much fun!! :))

  2. Love this Andrea!! 🙂 I esp love #8! Trust your training & all the hard work you invested! When you get to “heartbreak hill” think of Atraeu from “neverending story.” 🙂 Have fun, smile and enjoy your Boston experience!! :))

  3. Matthew

    I’m trying to pick out my favorite outfit… I think I like the white adidas shirt and head band and knee socks! That should be the outfit for your next race! Good Luck and kick some booty!!

Chatter

