You Have Not Lived Until…

Standard

After months of training and fundraising with Fred’s Team for the Marathon, tonight I finally met my team! I joined the group in early February when a friend introduced me to the team (and lucky me!) they had one slot left for Boston.  I jumped at the chance to join the team – yet I knew that I would never run even a half mile with any of them before the race since we were dispersed around the country.

Tonight we had our ‘carb up’ pre-marathon dinner at Maggianos and I failed big time at taking any pictures.

But way more important than the pictures of food and people was the story I heard tonight from fellow Fred’s Team member, Aubrey.  In 1971, when Aubrey was 4 years old she was diagnosed with Acute Lymphoblastic Lymphoma (ALL) – at the time, the survival rate was no more than 10% for children with ALL.  Aubrey was treated with highly experimental techniques for 7 years at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and at the age of 17 she was declared to be in full remission.  These experimental treatments that saved her life – and since then many others – would not have been possible without the love, the support and the donations that have been made to Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. You can read more of her story here.  She’s run over 27 marathons with Fred’s Team and raised more than $500k.   She’s not running tomorrow but will be a FORCE at the Mile 16.9 cheering station tomorrow.

She spoke tonight briefly and left us with a quote that most poignantly defines the importance of all of your donations and why I decided to run the Boston Marathon.

You have not lived until you have done something for someone who can never repay you. – John Bunyan

Thank You.  I will be running with all of you – actually you’ve got my back. 🙂

Temps are still predicted to be 80-90 tomorrow, so my focus is on the fun vs. the speed.  However, if you’re interested in tracking my progress along the course, you can text RUNNER to 345678 and when prompted enter my bib #25710 for updates when I hit 10k, Half, 30k and Finish.

 I hear the marathon may be streaming live on Universal Sports Network here.

  Off to get my snooze on.

{MF Dre}

6 thoughts on “You Have Not Lived Until…

Chatter

