Milestone Monday: Putting the Hammer Down on SLO.

Standard

Word’s Out.

Yes, I ran a Marathon last Monday and a Half Marathon yesterday.

Yes, I’m officially Nuts. (and you might think borderline Obsessed too}.  I don’t blame you.

 It’s fine if you want to call me Bat.Shit.Crazy.

Just don’t call me Sarah. kthx.

I signed up for the San Luis Obispo Half Marathon eon’s ago.  I had picked it as my first race post-LA Marathon – figuring it would have been about 5 weeks after LA and a good mid-distance race to get back into the game.  Whelp, Boston called first and you’ve seen and heard it all.

I put SLO out of my head for a bit.  I had NO idea how my body would feel after Boston and whether I’d even be up for it.  So I intentionally kept it on the back burner, leaving my options open {and trying to manage that would.be.manic/obsessive.perception that would come from the people around me if I told them I was racing again the weekend after Boston}.

and.I.can.hear.all.of.your.thoughts.now

Luckily my friend Anne had also signed up for this race, so we agreed to make a girls trip out of the weekend and hit the road Saturday morning together.

Sunday morning came quickly and EARLY.  Especially after a week filled with a marathon, traveling back to LA, trying to squish 5 days of work into 3 and a myriad of other life happenings.

a 4:14a Alarm left us 1 minute of Snooze time before GO TIME at 4:15a.

In all honesty, even having made it up to San Luis Obispo, picked up my race packet and spent the night, I was still a bit uncertain Sunday morning if I was actually going to do the race.  I’d gone back and forth – and back and forth – all week.  Totally over-thinking it on the inside. Not talking about it on the outside.

am I recovered enough?  am I risking injury?

am I mentally OK to take this one easy if I need to and not ‘race’?

will I even be able to wear shoes by race time?  (Side Note – I got horrible blisters in Boston running with wet feet the majority of the race.  Shoes were pretty much unbearable most of last week).

After a failed sub-4 in LA and heat-altered goals in Boston, I was mentally ready to throw the hammer down and get my darn PR in a race. However, Sunday morning I was still uncertain that my heart, my head and my body would all be in the same place by race time.  I thought about not starting. For Real.

And thought more about it. But all of a sudden it was GO TIME. For Real and time to make a call.

  I laced up my shoes and we did a small warm up jog, my blistered toes were SCREAMING at me.  Would it last?

Anne convinced me to get out there and go for it.  No Goal. No Plan. and If I was in Pain, to Stop.

Sometimes something magical happens when that gun goes off.

Magic aka Adrenaline.

My blistered feet were pain-free.  Seriously.

Call it crazy adrenaline.  Or maybe it was the other hilly distractions.

Silly me. How did I think I could run Boston and SLO without training on any major hills at all.

Miles 1.4 – 4 were a legit wake up.

Cr*p, Crud, Push, Chip Away, Ugh, Really? Come.On.Dre.Get.After.This.

Clearly I made it.  Only to be disheartened by another one leading to a turnaround at mile 7.2.  I had long forgotten that first beastly climb and at about 5.8 I could see the peak of 7.2 looming.  It looked far worse for some reason than the climbs before…Far worse.   Maybe because I could see it coming and the super speedy runners ahead who looked like ants running up the hill in the distance.  I looked down at my Garmin.  I’d been pushing my pace and was on par for a PR.  Aside from the *$%*ing hill ahead, I had it.

So I dug in.  And despite giving myself an eensy, weensy, mini walk break towards to top of this hill, I laid the hammer down on this course.  We flipped around at the top and breezed down.  I was less than 6 miles from what I knew would be a PR – even if I ran the last 6 at 9:30 min/miles.  And given that I was feeling pretty good, that pace was not close to my plan.

There were two surprises left for me – one a bathroom stop – I must be over-hydrating a bit – and two, a bridge that had a crazy back and forth ramp up, a wobbly middle and a crazy back and forth ramp down.  Definitely a momentum changer – but not enough to stop me.

I killed it. 1:51:xx – a PR by almost 7 minutes!

had a moment to reflect, and then ran out to the cheering lines to scream my face off for Anne running in

and then I put the hammer down on any painful ideas of an Ice Bath.

It was a Big Milestone, a great race, a beautiful course.  And now I’ve got a New Half PR to best! So much for over-thinking this one.
maybe I’ll start hill training … one day.

{MF Dre}

13 thoughts on “Milestone Monday: Putting the Hammer Down on SLO.

Chatter

