Milestone Monday

Standard

Guess I hit a new unplanned milestone yesterday. My first DNS.

At first I felt a bit guilty about it, but then realized it was exactly what I needed yesterday after weeks and weeks of working/running/living on fumes.  Waking up at 8:30a vs. 5a and then laying in bed until almost 11a was some kind of wonderful.

I did get my 10k on for Team Gab, just about 5 hours later than originally planned and a bit slower than planned because a) I decided I wanted to smell the roses – it was a gorgeous day – and b) I wasn’t officially racing anymore.  Yesterday’s run reminded me of why I like virtual races?

So anyway, I’ve got a few weeks until my next race – the Fontana Days 1/2 Marathon on June 2.

Recognized as the World’s Fastest Half Marathon Course by the USATF in 1985. The Half Marathon starting line is located at the Applewhite Campground in Lytle Creek. The first 6 miles of the Half Marathon include fast and steep downhill running through the scenic San Bernardino National Forest and Lytle Creek Community. The last 7.1 miles of the course are also fast, but more of a moderate to gradual downhill run along Sierra Avenue towards Fontana City Hall. There is an elevation drop of 2,125 feet from start to finish. All participants must run, not walk the half marathon course. Walkers will be disqualified and not allowed to complete the course. Participants must keep at least a 13 minute mile pace.

So I am thinking it might be a good week to officially start my hill training.  I’ve been talking about it for a bit now and I know it will make me a stronger, faster runner.   Though Fontana seemingly lacks any form of uphill on the course, what goes up must go down so tackling hills will enable me to get the power and speed benefits of running up steeper inclines, and learning how to properly handle the downhills.

So my weekly set up looks something like this and you can track the official results here

  • Monday:  5 easy
  • Tuesday: Hills! 1.5 Mile Warm Up, 4 Hill Repeats, 1.5 Mile Cool Down
  • Wednesday: 5 easy or Yoga
  • Thursday: Speed Work! 1.25 Mile Warm Up, 4 x 400 with 200 Recovery, 1.25 Mile Cool Down
  • Friday: Rest
  • Saturday: Revlon Run/Walk 5k
  • Sunday: Long Run

What’s your plan for the week? Do you do a weekly set up or just wing it?

and – are we friends yet?

Please leave your facebook page in the comments below too so I can follow you back!

{MF Dre}

One thought on “Milestone Monday

Chatter

