Milestone Monday

Standard

Saturday I got an unofficial and an official PR at the Fontana Days Half Marathon in good ol’ “Fontucky” California. The nickname “fontucky” pretty much sums up the city – particularly when you count the fact that there’s a race track located there.

whiskey.tango

Anyway, here’s how it went down:  I went out fast.  Faster than I’ve been known to race.  Don’t blame me – it’s so hard to put the brakes on a course that starts downhill.  Plus with the mega-porta-john lines 20 minutes pre-race, I had barely gotten out of the stench.fest when 5 seconds later the gun went off.  Adrenaline rush, big time.

Miles 1-7ish were through the foothills and absolutely gorgeous.  Extra bonus, I was running right next to this girl – so fun to meet in person Monica – and haul a few miles together!

  • Mile 1: 7:27
  • Mile 2: 7:27
  • Mile 3: 7:34
  • Mile 4: 7:46
  • Mile 5: 8:17
  • Mile 6: 8:16

At this point, 46:37 for the 10k, I was HAPPY! (and flying). I had gone out hard, fast and strong in the beginning but I knew I could not sustain that pace the entire race so I pulled it back around mile 5 and planned to hold the low-mid 8’s for the rest of the course.

  • Mile 7; 8:15
  • Mile 8 8:30

Here’s where my awesome stomach of steel that hates me decided that it was going to test me.  2 stops. The first right at Mile 8 and the second at Mile 11.  No Bueno.  This has been an issue that has plagued me at almost every race.

  • Mile 9: 8:36
  • Mile 10: 8:33
  • Mile 11: 9:05
  • Mile 12: 9:10
  • Mile 13: 8:40
  • Mile .1: .48

Mile 11 and 12 pretty much sucked as a result.  Big time.  But I told myself there was no stopping.  I had to fight the urge to brake entirely, but I was going to finish running – not walking – no matter what.  So I put my head down and just ran chanting do not stop do not stop do not stop do not stop.  you’re too strong for this.

and I finished. as strong as my body would allow.  I found my strong.

Unofficial Race Time/Total Garmin Time:  1:48:31*

Average Pace:  8:17 – SO HAPPY ABOUT THIS!  6 months ago my average Half Mary pace was 8:57!

Official Race Time: 1:51 xx (about 15 seconds faster than SLO – close but still a PR).

{*I stopped my Garmin during my two stops just to get an idea of what my time would have been had I not been plagued by my stupid stomach}

Beyond the goodness of an unofficial and an official PR, Pre-Race, Mid-Race and Post-Race, the support was fantastic and super organized!  Parking was a breeze, bib-pick up even easier, we were swiftly bussed to the start of the point to point course, the volunteers were friendly and informed and after the race, they had food trucks, music, massage tables (thank you Massage Envy)!  Bonus, I also got to meet one of my Team AfterNuunDelight teammates for Hood to Coast- Caroline – great meeting you!

Post race, I had an after party to attend in fontucky…  A track party…

Our weekend getaway didn’t have the glitz of the Ritz, a shower that didn’t require sandals, or –look closely — transportation that had a hood & windshield {it was fixed pre-race} — but we’re still smiling, we’re a family that loves to race.  AND PS…they took 2nd in their class!!!

{MF Dre}

8 thoughts on “Milestone Monday

  1. Congrats again on the nice PR! so happy I got to meet you! my kids were impressed that you work at Disney XD…Will said “I should have told her all the shows we watch!” 🙂

Chatter

