Raising the Barre.

Standard

Last Wednesday I was invited along with a small group of other bloggers/entertainment hosts & writers to a 2 year anniversary event for Physique 57 held at their studio in Beverly Hills.  For those of you familiar with Bar Method – type classes,

Physique 57 is an innovative workout program that combines isometric exercises and orthopedic stretches to systematically lengthen and sculpt your muscles and create a beautiful, lean body. Our process is similar to interval training, but we’ve taken that concept to the next level to make it even more effective.

With fans like Kelly Ripa, Denise Richards, Lisa Rinna and Demi Moore, Physique 57 is known to transform bodies.

I started taking ballet class when I was 5 years old and quit by 5 years 1 week.  I loved it thaaaat much. Unlike my graceful sister, I never had any control or coordination with my limbs and I was — and still am — far from good at anything remotely delicate and feminine or that involve dancing {remember this}?

Anyway, over the last few years I’ve made a much more concerted effort to just say yes to learning, trying new things and overcoming hurdles – thus when I got invited through my friends at FitFluential, I knew had to say YES.

There were about 10 of us invited and we mingled — albeit a bit nervously — with co-founder Jennifer Maanavi before class started.  She pretty much told us we were in for it.  I suppose you can’t claim that your clients see results in 8 classes or less without putting them through the wringer.

{L-R: Chelsea from Hollywire, Jessica from Glamour, Me, Jennifer Maanavi in Pink}

Our instructor, Sarah, started us off with about 10 minutes of arms – all different ways – using 5lb weights.  The weight seemed light, but by the time we were a few minutes in with no rest between sets, I knew things were going to get shaky from there.

Once my arms were 4 minutes past the fall off point, we moved over to the barre where we spent the next chunk of class doing squats: regular squats, squats with rubber balls between our knees, half squats, squats our toes, one leg squats – every variation possible.  No joke, marathon running legs mean nothing when it comes to this stuff.  I think I was laughing to mask the tears that I wanted to cry and I am now certain why the people who take Physique 57 have the best bodies ever…my legs were burning!!

We followed the barre with hips, back, abs, push ups, more abs and finally some stretches.  57 minutes later every I was beyond aware of every muscle in my body because each was shaking in that holy crap I’m alive or.maybe.dying.kind of way.

 Physique 57 was kind enough to give each of us a pass good for 2 weeks to take as many classes as we’d like so I went back again 3 days later, this time taking a Mixed level class since the Beginner didn’t work with my schedule.  Not going to lie – this workout is the real deal.  Two classes in, I know what this can do for my body.  It asked me to work in a way that running and other cardio doesn’t – focusing on small movements that not only strengthen the large muscles, but activate the smaller stabilizing muscles which don’t get as much use when I run.

In addition to the 2 week pass, Physique also gave each of us a gift bag which included this book and a pair of their grippy socks to use in studio.  I’m headed back tomorrow and hoping to get 5-6 classes in before my two weeks are up.

I am pretty hopeful that this type of workout, in addition to a revised running plan will be just the trick I need to ensure the balance of endurance, strength and flexibility I will need to achieve my Chicago Marathon goals.  Plus, given how sore I was – I can certainly say that If I keep this up, my arms will look pretty good in my wedding dress this November.

While I may have hated the ballet barre, I can see myself getting hooked on this one.

Have you ever tried a barre class?

{MF Dre}

{all photos courtesy of Physique 57}
3 thoughts on “Raising the Barre.

  1. Sarah

    I just tried a barre class two weeks ago for the first time because a Groupon was offered. I am, 100% totally hooked! I’ve already bought a package. It’s such a great workout!

Chatter

