Step Out of Your Comfort Zone: Milestone Monday

Standard

Back in April I ran Boston Marathon with Fred’s Team in April and I still keep in touch with the team via email, twitter and facebook.  Up until about a month ago, I was kinda wishing I’d signed up to run the NYC Marathon with them this November, but now that our wedding is happening right around the same time, I’m grateful I can focus on one endurance race vs. two!

That said, ING NYC 2013 be ready for me.

Anyway, last week I received this coaching tip from Fred’s Team and it could not have been better timed.

Tip: Step Out of Your Comfort Zone
Many runners are capable of a faster pace than they realize. They tend to pick a pace that will leave them with enough energy to finish strong. Well, if you finished really strong, you did not leave enough of yourself out on the course.

But how do you know how fast you can run? Pick a training run and take yourself out of your comfort zone. Don’t fear going too hard and bonking. Get over it! So you may have to slow down or — worst case scenario — you may have to walk. You’ll survive. Somewhere between your comfort zone and your bonking pace is your true race pace. Seek and you shall find.

—Coach Jeff

It was my week to plan the run with my running partner (RP) and we had 11 miles on the schedule.  She joked that my week to plan meant I got to avoid her putting me through the wringer on her monster hill.  The funny thing about karma…

it’s a beast

especially when it repeats itself over and over and over again through mile 8.

I picked a training run that was waaaaaaay out of my comfort zone.  Hills, Hills and more Hills – but they say that hill skills pay the bills.  Or something like that. No way I’m getting to sub-4 doing the same old thing.

End of the story?

We Came. We Saw. We Conquered. And didn’t totally Bonk. (maybe me just a little)

It may not have been pretty – especially for me – the RP is strong on hills – but total run time was 1:41 for 11.4 miles (8:51 pace).   Not going to say that sucked at all.  But there is still a lot of room to grow.  The hills totaled any quest for even splits on Saturday which means I’m going to have to keep getting uncomfortable.

 I want to get so comfortable with the uncomfortable that on race day – when the course is FLAT and FLAT and more FLAT, my legs have been through it and are stronger than the course.  I’d say that with 3 months ahead of us to train (and conquer), RP and I could be on to some of the right kind of momentum…just saying.

And if you follow me here, you already know what happened next – RP and I got to cheer on my Dad and her Hubs as they stepped out of their comfort zones and killed it in the Shockwave Competition!  more to come on that one…

{MF Dre}

7 thoughts on “Step Out of Your Comfort Zone: Milestone Monday

Chatter

