Dated.

Standard

Apple Pie, Peanut Butter Cookie, Banana Bread, Ginger Snap, Coconut Cream Pie, Carrot Cake, Pecan Pie, Lemon Bar

Picture that bakery case.  Deeeelicious.

 {and most certainly completely inappropriate for any dreams of a girlish figure … or proper fuel for anything more than a crash and burn}

One of the most common misconceptions of athletes is that we must be able to eat whatever we want.  For some, maybe, but for me, unfortunately not.  What I eat directly correlates to my mental and physical performance and over the years I’ve learned that sugar, dairy and gluten have become some of my worst fueling enemies and contributed to more than a few failed runs.

Accordingly, I tend to center my diet around whole, natural fruits, vegetables, proteins and select grains for peak mental and physical energy.   One of my favorite snacks is the Larabar which comes in all the aforementioned ‘dessert case’ flavors, but built with just a few ingredients – simple. natural. delicious.

I set out to try to create my own version of the Larabar recently via a recipe I discovered in Move Nourish Believe by Lorna Jane. BTW, have I mentioned Lorna Jane is amazing?

Well, So Is This Recipe.

With their natural sweetness, dates form the base of this recipe along with chopped almonds and cinnamon.  I whipped out my handy-dandy As Seen on TV purchase – the Magic Bullet blender – to chop everything up and these came together rather effortlessly.

All I needed was about a dozen large dates, 1/2 cup of raw Almonds, 3/4 tsp cinnamon, a dash of fennel seeds and black pepper

Roll, Refrigerate, Slice, Dip.

Let me tell you.  These things are completely and totally in.a.health.nut.kind.of way DT.  I popped a few before my early morning run today and found them to be the perfect (and stomach friendly) fuel to power me through 8 tempo’d miles.  Will I make them again?? 100% hands down yes – and next time I plan on experimenting with adding additional flavors  like banana, blueberry, cashews, coconut or unsweetened dried cherries.

The only eeeensy weensy problem is that now I’m going to have to buy two Costco size boxes of dates instead of one because I already inhale eat at least one of these every two weeks.

So anyway,  scratch that brownie pie, peanut butter cookie or cherry cobbler – make these pronto. Your waistline {and your workout} will thank you.

{MF Dre}

2 thoughts on “Dated.

  1. Jennifer Ste. Marie

    First you get me hooked on Lara bars. Now I have to make these! Did I ever send you the Date Banana Salad recipe from Chef Emmanuel? Sooooo good!

Chatter

