Milestone Monday.

Standard

This is the last huge effort running week of my Chicago Marathon training plan.

I don’t think I’ve ever been so freakin’ excited to taper.

Last week was a complete and total bust.  After Sunday’s 20-miler, I awoke Monday in the biggest fog of a head cold ever. Eyes barely opened the entire day and Tuesday through Friday were only slightly lesser shades of haze.   Tried to take a ‘jog’ on Wednesday because I wanted to move.  Turns out the only move I was making was on the curb. I tripped over it and landed smack on my face.  I did an immediate {and totally embarrassed} about-face, walked home, grabbed the dogs and took a measly walk around the block.

  Had I been doing anything to monitor the true depth of my exhaustion levels I could have seen that one coming from about a million miles away.  But when do I do that?  Yeah, never. Push, Push, Push. then.flop.

So last week’s suck fest looked a little like this:

Sunday: 20 Miles

Monday: Walk from Bed to Couch to Bed to Couch to Bed to Couch

Tuesday:  rest

Wednesday:  1 Mile, Spill, Fall, About Face.  3 Block Dog Walk

Thursday:  rest

Friday:  rest

Saturday:  Forced myself back into a workout with 2.5 Mile jog and a 75 Minute Yoga Class at YogaHop

Sunday:  11 Miles (supposed to be 12 but I was dying at 9).

Monday to Friday sucked, Saturday redeemed me a little and Sunday was only good until Mile 9.  After a not-so-stellar week, I’m ready to make a commitment to 8-9 hours a night (sorry Mr. but 9p is my bedtime this week) put the last hard effort into some heavy mileage and then enjoy a few weeks of taper.  Here’s my plan.

Mon:  REST or YOGA,  Tues:  5 EASY,   Wed:  8 TEMPO,  Thurs: 5 EASY,  Fri:  7 at MGP,  Sat: YOGA,  Sun: 20 MILES

{MF Dre}
2 thoughts on “Milestone Monday.

  1. I am FEELING the marathon training exhaustion too! I will be SO HAPPY to taper after this week as well! One more UBER UBER long run this week (hello 22, ack) and then it’s tappppperrrrrr. Wooo!! We’re almost there!!

Chatter

