Roasted Fig and Coconut Breakfast Qunioa

Standard

So I wasn’t really so sure about this one.  Pretty much not at all sure.  The only time I’ve ever ordered Quinoa (keen-wah) off a menu was by accident on a date when I wasn’t really paying attention. I ordered some roasted  vegetable bowl that I presumed was over rice. Wrong.  I didn’t know what I was eating, it felt waaay healthy and I wondered if my date was secretly judging me from across the table as one of those girls as he dominated a bacon burger and fries.  That date turned out well – the one and done kind.  and I’ve never ordered a roasted vegetable bowl again.

  A few weeks ago I was at Costco and this 5 lb bag of Quinoa was staring me in the face saying buy me buy me buy me.   Didn’t help that the Saturday Samplers kept trying to shove those paper cups in my face to try this miraculous Gluten-Free Superfood. 

Weird people.

On a Saturday.

At Costco.

Seems completely and totally wrong.  How many Costcos – outside of LA – are hawking Quinoa? None.

But they suckered me in like the hopeful promise of a good date back in my single days used to do.  And I went out on a liiiiiitle – ok 5lb limb.

What is it about Costco that makes you feel like you really neeeeeed something Duggar family-sized (for 2 people).  Duggar Size Quinoa.  They sold me.  Now I have to figure out what we’re going to do with it.

{The Mr. looked at me and told me it was a me problem, not a we problem}

IMG_1385

Does this look like a me problem???

Quinoa

Surprise fact:  it’s not a grain, its a seed from the Spinach family.

aaaaanyway

Because I am currently obsessed with the freshest figs ever this season, I did a little kitchen experiment.

IMG_1376

IMG_1377

{and I think I have eaten it for breakfast and dinner every night this week}

Don’t judge the dinner thing.  Breakfast for dinner every night is ok. By the time I’m done working each day it feels like 24 hours have passed – I’m calling breakfast again totally fair game.

and anyway, it’s ridiculous.

Roasted Fig & Coconut Breakfast Quinoa

serves 4

1 cup dry quinoa, rinsed

1 1/2 cup almond milk + more for drizzling

3 tablespoons flaked coconut, + 1 teaspoon to taste

1 tablespoon coconut oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

pinch of salt

6 figs, quartered

Olive Oil

1 tablespoon honey

Brown Sugar to taste

Combine quinoa, almond milk, coconut oil, coconut, salt and vanilla in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover, and let cook for 15 minutes until quinoa is light and fluffy.

Preheat oven to 400*.  Rinse and cut fresh figs into quarters and place cut size up in a small pan.  Drizzle with olive oil and honey and place in oven for 15-20 minutes until soft and starting to caramelize.

Divide quinoa into four bowls then cover with figs, and a few extra drizzles of coconut and almond milk.

Note: you can certainly sub almond milk for regular milk, soymilk or coconut milk.  I happen to only stock Trader Joes Almond Milk in our house.
IMG_1375

IMG_1379

Oatmeal Lovers.  I think it is time you meet Quinoa. and Figs. and Coconut.

IMG_1385

Quinoa, we’ve reconnected.  And I still have 4.8lbs of you left.  Where will we go next? Suggestions?

{MF Dre}

2 thoughts on “Roasted Fig and Coconut Breakfast Qunioa

Chatter

