A Brilliant Run.

Standard

A few weeks ago I was invited by Fitfluential and Mizuno Running to join the Mezamashii Project.

The Mezamashii Run Project is an effort by Mizuno to help create a more euphoric running experience — a more “brilliant” run — for more runners everywhere.  The word “mezamashii” means “eye-opening” or “brilliant” in Japanese — it’s a word that captures the euphoric feeling of a brilliant run.

Instead of spending multi-million dollars on a huge marketing blitz, Mizuno invited thousands of runners to receive a free pair of shoes with the hopes that their shoes would deliver on this quest to help runners discover the euphoria that comes with a brilliant run.

You know me, I have good runs and I’ve certainly encountered some of Murphy’s Laws during my daily running as well, but the good ones…they’re the reason I keep running, each and every day.

Despite my many years of running, I’ve actually never run in Mizunos. Everyone I know that runs in them literally raves about them so I’ve been pretty eager to try them.  I’ve run in just about every other brand but the last time I wore Mizunos was back in high school when they were the cool volleyball shoes to wear.  {side note, I didn’t play Volleyball.  total poser}

So when I was invited to join in, I scrolled through the myriad of running options that Mizuno has and also used their Precision Fit  guide and selected the Wave Rider 15s – a mid-lightweight shoe, with great cushion and just enough stability for often heavy mileage weeks.

I pulled these out of the box about two weeks ago and thus far, I’ve put about 35 miles on them, rotating them in with my Brooks PureFlows.

IMG_1413

Here are my thoughts so far:

Color.  I LOVE the fact that they’re yellow and gold. Gold is hands down my favorite color and my favorite element.  Looks alone, I’d marry these shoes.

Stability & Cushion.  I’ve gotten very used to a minimalist shoe and I was pretty hesitant about the Wave Riders feeling clunky.  They are most definitely “more shoe” but they’re also much more stable across all terrains – road, trail, grass, gravel path, wood chips.  Whereas the PureFlows flex across the terrain with their softer and lighter DNA, I feel more protected and less reaction/feedback from the road in the Wave Riders. I kind of coast on top of the terrain in these vs. shifting with it.  I’m not sure whether I like that or not yet.

Box to Run.   These shoes didn’t need any time to break in.  They went from box to road and so far, I haven’t had any issue with them.

Heel to Toe Drop.  These Mizunos have a 12m heel to toe drop. My Brooks have a 4mm.  As a converted mid-foot runner, its easier to strike mid-foot in the Brooks and I think they’ve been critical to helping me train my gait.  I haven’t noticed any challenge going backwards to the 12mm, but I’m paying close attention to ensure I don’t get lazy in my stride.

image

Overall my experience has been pretty great.  I probably need to put about 25-30 more miles on them – including a 10+ miler on them to fully determine how “mezamashii” they are, but since we’re still dating, I’m going to say that I like them a lot.  Let’s see how the next few run dates go.

{MF Dre}

PS – If you’re interested in testing out some Mizunos,  you can sign up to participate in The Mezamashii Run Project by visiting www.mezamashiirunproject.com and click on “Apply for an invite” to sign up for the weekly giveaway.

One thought on “A Brilliant Run.

  1. I ordered the same ones, but have yet to experience my brilliant run – I had to exchange for the next half size up! I’m hoping they come next week so I have time to run in them a few times before my next race. I’m also a “more minimalist” runner, used to a 4mm drop in my Kinvaras – but I’m hoping that these will be a good alternative for some of my longer runs!

Chatter

