LOVE at First Drink.

Standard

 

 My first decent run in a while happened this morning. 7 miles down – 5 solo, 2 with the homies.  Felt so good (and so freeing). Plus, I have a total love affair with running in the rain so the 57* temp and drizzle was sweet perfection.

20121108_070123

 When I got home I was famished….time to refuel.

A few weeks ago, via my relationship with FitFluential,  I was introduced to Muscle Gauge Nutrition –  a new line of body building, fat loss, and fitness supplements. The team at MGN are attempting to make the highest quality ingredients and supplements available to athletes for affordable pricing.  They offered me the opportunity to select some of their product to test out!!

Ever since I made a running comeback a little more than a year ago,  I’ve been working on my goal of 2012 miles in 2012. Certainly with all this running, I can EAT! but I find that my performance is dramatically effected by the types of foods I fuel my body with. As a red-meat disliker {except for In-N-Out eveeeeerrry.once.in.a.major.craving.while}, I’ve made an effort to incorporate far more proteins into my diet to ensure proper recovery and regrowth for my muscles.

So I picked out a protein powder – the Pure Isolate Whey Protein – that would provide me with a solid amount of protein and the proper amino acids for my recovery. The Pure Isolate comes in some pretty amazing flavors – Cake Batter, Chocolate, Cinnamon Bun, Ice Cream Sandwich, Rocky Road, Strawberry, Unflavored & Vanilla

I picked out Cake Batter and it was LOVE at first drink.

{side note, I’ve been a TRUE Trader Joe’s fan and even bought their protein powder for a while…  I was missing out.  There is no way you can compare their Whey protein in Chocolate and Vanilla to these flavors and this protein. Sorry TJ’s this may be your first loss in my book}

IMG_20121029_073607

Lots of reasons why I loved MGN Cake Batter.

It Blends Well – NO chunks left behind

It’s sugar-free, lactose free, fat-free and digests super well –  NO rock in my stomach.

It tastes delicious – NO nasty metallic aftertaste.

With 25g of Protein per serving it fills me up – and keeps me full until lunch.

So I’ve been making a ton of smoothies and here are a few of my favorite fall smoothie recipes.

20121105_085205

PUMPKIN PIE:  1 C. ALMOND MILK, 1/4 C. PUREED PUMPKIN, 1 SCOOP MGN CAKE BATTER PROTEIN, DASH PUMPKIN PIE SPICE, 3 ICE CUBES.

20121106_075325

1 C. ALMOND MILK, 1/2 RIPE BANANA, 1 TBSP COCONUT BUTTER, 1 SCOOP MGN CAKE BATTER PROTEIN POWDER, DASH TRADER JOES CINNAMON SUGAR, 3 ICE CUBES.

20121107_074915

1 C. ALMOND MILK, 1/3 C. FROZEN BLUEBERRIES, 1 TSP. TRADER JOES SPECULOUS COOKIE BUTTER, 1 SCOOP MGN CAKE BATTER PROTEIN POWDER, 3 ICE CUBES

20121108_075202

1 C. ALMOND MILK, 1 TSP. VANILLA EXTRACT, 2 DATES CHOPPED, 1 SCOOP MGN CAKE BATTER PROTEIN POWDER, 3 ICE CUBES

What are some of your favorite fall smoothie recipes?

Do you have a favorite protein powder?

{MF Dre}

DISCLOSURE:  WHILE FITFLUENTIAL AND MGN SENT ME COMPLIMENTARY PRODUCT FOR THIS REVIEW, ALL OPINIONS ARE MY OWN.
3 thoughts on “LOVE at First Drink.

Chatter

