DT Alert: Mas Malo

Standard

More ridiculously good DT to tell you about.  It’s about T’nT again…. my FAVES!  I know you’re probably thinking  are the only things this girl eats and drinks Tacos and Tequila? kinda sorta yes.  I mean, if you planned my dream meal and any other random meal of the week, yes.  I’m like the Veruca Salt of tacos – Fish Tacos, Chicken Tacos, Beef Tacos, Potato Tacos, Shrimp Tacos – I want them all–give them to me now!  Side note: we even had breakfast tacos at our brunch the day after our wedding. Ob.Sessed.

I’ll admit I draw the line at late night drive throughs and Choco-Tacos, but truly I can dominate all sorts of tacos.   Some of my favorites are here in Venice,  here in Malibu, here and here in New York and now HERE in Downtown Los Angeles.

{I am a firm believer in having a go-to in any city I’m in — especially when I suddenly dying of hunger and need to be fed before I become the most painful person in the world to deal with…ask the Mr.  it’s true. very true.  he packs me snacks just in case}

Anyway, we were running some last-minute errands for our wedding a few weeks ago downtown including picking out flowers and picking up the Mr.’s ring and we stumbled upon Mas Malo. It’s actually right across the street from one of our other favorites, Bottega Louie.  It was only about 11am in the morning but they were open and serving brunch.

Yes, Please.

Mas Malo is an old jewelry building turned gorgeous Mexican Restaurant.  Huge Vaulted and Arched Ceilings, Marble Floors, Art Deco Inspired with Frescoes on the Wall.  Hardly your dive-y, cave-like Mexican joint.

Being that it was early Saturday morning and Downtown LA is not truly known for its weekend-morning vibe, we were the only ones in the restaurant! That was certainly a first, but kind of fun to have the place to ourselves.

{Side note: we went back a week later after this crazy midget wrestling and the place was packed}

The Mr. went with brunch – Huevos Rancheros and a Modelo; I got all Veruca Salt on the tacos and paired my Fish Taco Zucchini Blossom taco AND Ground Beef and Pickle taco with some Echo Park aka straight from the street cart Corn and a Michelada.

Shocker, but I strayed from the ‘nT at MM.

Not gonna lie.  I pretty much have been dreaming about these tacos since the minute I stuffed my face with them. {oh and the second time too since I ordered the EXACT SAME THREE TACOS}.  Creature Dreamer of Habit.  I kind of went out on a wire with the Beef and Pickle {and sure, the Zucchini Blossom too} – not your average tacos.  Actually way BETTER than your average tacos.  The zucchini blossom was every vegetarians dream come true in a taco and served on a corn tortilla, it brought forward all of the best of each of the flavors.  The combo of the pickle and beef taco far over-delivered on my expectations – it was simply outstanding and I laughed to find out its ever-so-trite origin

“It’s simple. I was twelve years old and my mom was prepping for hamburgers when she realized she had no bread. She took a tortilla and turned it into hard taco with the beef and the pickles. Since then I haven’t wanted hamburgers any other way.” — Malo and Mas Malo chef Robert Luna

The only thing that was a miss – the Migas.  They weren’t bad, they just weren’t anything special in comparison to the rest. Wavering thumb for the Mr…

Good thing I usually order more than I can eat!

Tell me – where are the best taco spots in your neighborhood?

Is there something that you could eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner?

{MF Dre}

Chatter

